High quality self-catering cottages across Devon

Customer Reviews

We love nothing more than hearing from our customers and we always invite them to leave feedback on their holiday experience with us once they’ve returned home. This feedback is often as helpful to us as it is to other customers who visit our website as it allows us to identify what works well and if we can improve upon any aspects of our service - and it’s also great just to hear that they’ve had a lovely time on their holiday!

To collect our customers’ feedback, we have teamed up with an independent review platform called Feefo, a company who provide an average Star Rating and an Award Scheme aimed at celebrating high levels of customer service.

We are delighted to have received a Gold Trusted Merchant Award from Feefo in 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018.

Bay View Tower, Lynton Cottage - January 2018

Service rating: “The booking of the property was straight forward and the description provided was accurate and informative.”

Product rating: “We were probably the first people to rent the property and there were a few minor irritations which were easily sorted. The kitchen utensils were a bit sparse for 4 people but the housekeeper did her best to make good. In general we were very pleased with the whole experience and would return if the occasion arises”

Sitting Room

Seabreak - January 2018

Service rating: “No problems at all”

Product rating: “Lovely property”

Superb vistas of Woolacombe beach from the terrace

1 Devon Beach Court - January 2018

Service rating: “Marsdens Devon Cottages impressed us with the help and support we received following an equipment failure at the rental property.”

Product rating: “An excellent location that will be very hard to beat.”

Sit and enjoy the peace and quiet after a long day exploring the North Devon coast

Button Barn - January 2018

Service rating: “Good website, easy to search by availability and other features, clear pricing, could book directly online.”

Product rating: “Stayed in a lovely, clean, warm cottage and had good winter walks by the coast. Ideal.”

A fabulous holiday home with far reaching views of the Taw & Torridge Estuary

Tidal View - January 2018

Service rating: “Marsden's provide a very efficient service and effective correspondence.”

Product rating: “Tidal View is a lovely property, well equipped and amazing views.”

External - View 2

Monks Cottage - December 2017

Service rating: “No caretaker available to assist in resolving the issues. She was on holiday!”

Pease see response on product/property  
Thank you, Arlene Service and Quality Manager

Marsdens Devon Cottages

Product rating: “Stayed at Monks Cottage over the Christmas holiday. On first appearances, the property was charming, however a number of problems became obvious quite quickly. There were no replacement bulbs of the right type available. One of the side table lights blew on our arrival. We had to swap the bulbs around. The TV remote failed to work. We tried replacing the batteries, but this did not help. Tried to contact the caretaker, but she was on holiday! The storage radiators were very unreliable. In order to provide some heat in the lounge we lit a fire in the wood burner stove. It had obviously been painted, and the fumes quickly filled the house giving us headaches. The bath was very shallow, and even then the hot water ran out before it was even half full. The shower was very low. Even my wife (5ft 4" tall) found she had to duck down to get under the shower head. The tops of the all the door frames were very low. I still bear the scars from catching my head on them. They should have some protection on them. Finally, the photo of the front of the cottage is misleading. Although the details do advise that guests can load/unload at the front, you have to literally block the road to do so. The rear entrance would be so much better, but that is private and for use by another property. Altogether, an unsatisfactory experience, which somewhat detracted from the holiday period. Certainly not worth the fee charged.”

Good Afternoon Mr Tulloch 

So sorry you were a little disappointed with some aspects of Monks Cottage. Be assured, I have spoken with the owners housekeeper and she apologises for not notifying you or our agency with regard to her holiday over the seasonal period, should we have been notified we would have put into place temporary cover. All the property points have been passed to our Property Manager and a visit is now planned on site. With regard to the shower room height, this is stated in our property description…. "Bathroom ( low ceiling) with bath, shower cubicle, WC and basin"

Thank you for taking time to respond and we do hope you will return to this wonderful part of the South West soon. Kind Regards Arlene, Service & Quality Manager

Marsdens Devon Cottages

Clifton Court overlooks the glorious beach at Putsborough, two miles from Croyde and three miles from Woolacombe

Flat 30 Clifton Court - December 2017

Service rating: “Our welcome was simply amazing - the icing on the cake. A tray laid for tea, Christmas decorations and fresh flowers to greet us... it seemed as if nothing was too much trouble. I also appreciated the additional help agreed for my elderly mother to be able to access the property in the daylight.”

Product rating: “Really comfortable apartment, all we needed was there and in an amazing location.”

SHIHOY - Sitting Room - View 1

Ship Ahoy! - December 2017

Service rating: “Very helpful local team. ”

Product rating: “Excellent couples apartment, lovely bed linen, furnishings and welcome pack also cleaned to perfection !”

Quay Cottage - December 2017

Service rating: “Easy to deal with and informative ”

Product rating: “Great location ”

Stunning detatched barn conversion.

Pusehill Barn - December 2017

Service rating: “Very helpful, professional and informative”

Product rating: “It was huge, had generous sized rooms, comfy beds, lovely lounge area, great sized kitchen for entertaining, and most importantly an enclosed courtyard where our dogs could be outside and not run off.”

Pages